Board of Directors

Ms. Allison DaCosta

Ms. DaCosta has a Master of Business Administration with concentration in Marketing and International Business as well as a B.Arch and a B.Sc.(Arch) from McGill University. She is currently a Co-op program coordinator at Concordia University, and has career experience in business development support and marketing for leading Canadian and international professional services firms. Following her avid interest in the performing arts, Ms. DaCosta joined the Black Theatre Workshop Board of Directors in 2015.

Tyrone Benskin

Andréa Springer

Andréa is a Public Relations professional with over 20 years experience in corporate communications, media and investor relations, as well as project and event management. She is currently the Programmes & Communications Director at the World Design Organization where she works directly with municipalities to develop strategies that communicate the value and impact of design on quality of life. As one of the newest members to join the Black Theatre Workshop in 2019, she hopes to contribute to the growth and appreciation of the performing arts in the local community.

Karen Licorish

Ms. Licorish has spent over 30 years in the financial industry in various positions both as a leader and a team contributor.  She is an ambassador for The Toronto-Dominion Bank and has delivered the welcome address for the opening ceremony of Les Nuits d ’Afrique Outdoor Festival, three years in a row as well as several events for which TD Bank is a sponsor. She is also a member of the Black Employee Network and helps to organize their annual Black History Month Cocktail. She has Bachelor’s degree in Economics from Concordia University, thrives on interacting with people and is passionate about volunteering.

Board Members

Dr. Clarence Bayne

Director of Institute for Community Entrepreneurship and Development (ICED) John Molson Business School, Concordia University. Dr. Bayne moved from the West Indies to study at the University of British Columbia, where he obtained a BA (1958) and MEcon (1960). He completed his PhD at McGill (1977) and now currently teaches at Concordia University (JMSB). Dr Bayne has made many contributions to the Black community in Quebec especially in the arts and his development work. He is best known as being one of the founding members of the Black Theatre Workshop and has been the Vice-President since 1991.

Ms. Danielle Fortas

Ms. Fortas has over 35 years of experience focused on technology implementations at BMO.  With an emphasis on enterprise wide initiatives in Finance and Data Analytics, she has held multiple IT senior roles.  Her latest management position has been in Back Office Operations where she has enabled process change within business units. Danielle immigrated from France to continue her university studies. She holds a degree in Economics from Paris X and a Bachelor of Commerce (Option MIS) from Concordia.  She followed the University of Waterloo Program for BMO Technologists and the Project Management Program from York University.  She is a member of the BMO Alliance for Women in Canada and the Black Professional Network. Danielle is passionate about arts, the development of black culture in Montreal and the sustainability of black community institutions within Quebec and Canada.

Ms. Yvonne Greer

Ms. Greer has a B.A. in English and Psychology from Concordia and a M.Ed. (Counselling) from McGill. Currently retired after 30 year in Education as a teacher/Guidance Counsellor, she has worked just as long within the Black community with the Negro Community Centre (NCC) and the Black Community Central Administration of Quebec (BCCAQ). She has been on the Boards of Elizabeth House, Women on the Rise, the Black Community Resource Centre (BCRC) and is currently a member of the Rev. Dr. Charles Este Scholarship Committee. She has a strong interest in theatre going back to the Negro Theatre Arts Club and has been a long-time supporter of BTW. She has been a member of the Black Theatre Workshop Board of Directors since 2015.

Ms. Deanna Smith

Deanna Smith has an Honours B.A. in Linguistics from the University of Ottawa, a M.Sc. in Communication Sciences and Disorders from Howard University, and a Graduate Certificate in Creative Writing from Humber College. She retired from the field of Speech-Language Pathology in 2017. Currently, she is a poet, performer an educator. She writes poetry and children’s books, participates in spoken word events, and facilitates creative writing, performance, and cultural awareness workshops for students in kindergarten through CEGEP. She was on the board of directors of the Quebec Writers’ Federation from 2012 through 2017, and is a member of QWF, ELAN (the English Language Arts Network), the Kalmunity Vibe Collective, and the Throw Poetry Collective. Deanna is a long-time supporter of BTW. She has attended productions since her childhood and volunteered during an archiving project in 2008. She is delighted to be a part of the board.


Founding Members

Cynthia Allen (deceased)
Lydon Allen (deceased)
Vivan Allen
Clarence S. Bayne
Cynthia Bayne
Sterling Beckley
Ken Bruzal
Johnny Cayonne (deceased)
Anthony Coker
Jean Crawford
Harold Darmanie (deceased)
Lorris Elliot (deceased)
Kay Fermin
Jennifer Gibbs
Louis Gonzalez
Victor Hayes
Jeff Henry
Jimi Horsham
Anne-Marie Hull
Dianne Johnson
Habze Kharamat/Shedlack
Richard Martineau
Khadejha McCall
Mirian McLean
Percy McLeod
Jean Ortega
Ken Pilgrim
Olive Russell
Jackie Sherrif
Errol Sitahal
Joy Sitahal
Wayne Springer
Leon St-Martin (deceased)
Maureen Thomas
Herbert Webb

Honorary Lifetime Members & Patrons

Stanley Aleong
Clarence & Frances Bayne
Pauline Wong

Honorary Founding Members

Elizabeth Armory
Dwight Bacquie
Sonya Biddle
Violet Boldon
Malika Chandwani
Glen Clarke
Ken Davis
Ralph b. Davis
Laurencio Da Silva
Terry Donald
David Doze
David Edgecombe
Walter Elliott
Lorena Gale (deceased)
Steve Hawkins
Norma Heitner
Bertrand Henry
Merle Howard
Donald Jordan
Paulette Armory Joseph
Leon Llewlyn
Sammy Maughn
Sheila Maughn
Jerry Metellus
Mireille Metelus
Arleigh Peterson
Anthony Sherwood
Errol Slue (deceased)
Peter Smith
Winston Sutton
Jacinta Thomas
Caroline Walwyn
Frances Ward

Artistic Directors

1970’s Clarence Bayne
1970’s Errol Sitahal
1970’s Terry Donald
1983-1984 Dwight Bacquie
1984-1985 Lorena Gale
1985-1988 Don Jordan
1988-1994 Winston Sutton
1994-1996 Fleurette Fernando
1997-1999 Nancy Delva
1999-2001 Kate Bligh
2001-2005 Rachael Van Fossen
2005-2011 Tyrone Benskin
2011-Present Quincy Armorer