We are pleased to announce our 2017 Award Recipients!

Our annual Vision Celebration Gala event and fundraiser has been in existence for 31 years. At Vision we  “Celebrate Trailblazing Leaders carving paths for the future” in Black Canadian arts and cultural communities.

Each year we present the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award to a Black artist or cultural leader who has made significant contributions to the Canadian arts and culture landscape.

Winston Sutton - Headshot

Winston Sutton is an accomplished actor and director who has dedicated his life to the development of emerging theatre professionals. He was a part-time professor at Concordia University prior to becoming a tenured professor in the Theatre Department at Dawson College in 1994, a position he still hold today. He also served as Artistic Director of Black Theatre Workshop from 1988-1993.

Pat Dillon-Moore_SquareWe also award the Dr. Clarence Bayne Community Service Award to a noteworthy community leader.

Pat Dillon-Moore is a highly-respected member of Montreal’s black community. In addition to her work as a publicist for the National Film Board of Canada, she is well known for her many volunteer efforts at several  organizations and community events, including Black Theatre Workshop and CKUT radio station (producer).

We are very honoured to be presenting these awards to these two amazing Artists & Community Leaders. We congratulate them on their achievements and look forward to hosting them!

– –

JazmynSeon_SquareThe Victor Phillips Award ($1000 Cash Prize sponsored by TD Bank Group) is presented to a young artist in recognition of their Academic and Artistic  Excellence.

Jazmyn Seon is our Victor Phillips Award recipient. Jazmyn’s musical talent was evident as early as age 3 and she is currently an honour student at Heritage Regional High School. Upon graduation, this musically-inclined talent will continue her studies, majoring in psychology to pursue a career in education, and this summer she finishes up her Collegial 2 piano certification through the McGill Conservatory of Music.


Aiza Ntibarikure_SquareThe Gloria-Mitchell Aleong Award ($500 Cash Prize sponsored by Dr. Stanley Aleong & Family) is presented to a young emerging arts professional  in recognition of their artistic talent and contributions.

Aiza Ntibarikure is our recipient for the Gloria Mitchell-Aleong Award. Aiza is a multi-talented singer-songwriter, actress & 2011 honours graduate of the Dawson College Professional Theatre Program. She is a two-time META Award winner, has appeared on multiple TV shows and is releasing her first single: Criminal. She will be appearing next in Toronto in Binti’s Journey and will be featured on television throughout 2017.

Vision acts as a fundraiser for all of Black Theatre Workshop’s events and programming including our mainstage productions, our Discovery Series play development initiative, our Artist Mentorship Program and our Black History Month School Tour.

Date: January 28, 2017
Location: EVO Hotel . 420 Sherbrooke Street West . Montreal, Qc H3A 1B4
Cocktails: 5.30pm
Dinner & Festivities: 7pm
Tickets: $125.00 per person (Tax receipt of $70.00 issued)
Full Table Purchase (10 people): $1,150.00

To purchase your ticket
Call: 514.932.1104

Past recipients of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award include:
2016 30th Jackie Richardson: Theatre & Music
2015 29th Dany Laferrière: Literature
2014 28th Zab Maboungou: Dance
2013 27th Gregory Charles: Music
2012 26th Tonya Lee Williams: Film & Television
2011 25th Doudou Boicel: Music
2010 24th Bertrand A. Henry: Theatre
2009 23rd Ethel Bruneau: Dance [Tap]
2008 22nd Terry Donald: Theatre
2007 21st Charles Ellison: Music [Jazz]
2006 20th Walter Borden: Theatre
2005 19th Jeri Brown: Music [Jazz]
2004 18th Dr. George Elliot Clarke: Poet
2003 17th Djanet Sears: Theatre
2002 16th Anthony Salah I. Wilson: Music [Steel pan]
2001 15th Aldwin Albino: Music
2000 14th Michelle Sweeney: Music [Singer]
1999 13th Austin Clarke: Writer
1998 12th Anthony Sherwood: Actor
1997 11th Lorraine Klaasen: Music [Singer]
1996 10th Salome Bay: Music / Actor
1995 9th Dr. Daisy Peterson- Sweeny: Music
1994 8th Professor Trevor Payne: Music
1993 7th Dr. Oliver Jones: Music [Pianist]
1992 6th Dr. Clarence Bayne: Theatre & Educator
1991 5th Dr. Dorothy Wills: Community / Arts
1989 3rd Charlie Biddle: Music [Jazz]
1988 2nd Ranee Lee: Music / Actor [Jazz]
1987 1st Oscar Peterson: Music


Visit Our Archive section here for more photos of our Vision Celebration Gala.