Vision 2020

The 2020 Vision Gala was a resounding success! It was a marvelous evening full of laughter, excitement, elegance, and the celebration of leaders in our community.

H Nigel Thomas, this year’s recipient of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award.

As the evening began, over 200 decked-out guests filled the Omni-Hotel, enjoying cocktails and hors d’oeuvres and appreciating the stunning portraits of visual artist Emmanuel Ayo. Moving into the ceremony, attendees were welcomed by our charismatic host, Kym Dominique-Ferguson.

Much congratulations to our two youth award winners, who each shared their vocal talents with us. First was the Victor Phillips Award presented to Méshama Eyob-Austin, who sang a touching rendition of Rise Up. Athena Holmes performed their original song Shine, before receiving the Gloria Mitchell-Aleong Award.

A heartfelt congratulations to Leon Llewellyn who was presented the Dr. Clarence Bayne Community Service Award and, last but not least, the 2020 Vision honoree H. Nigel Thomas, who was presented the prestigeous Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award

Four courses of delicious food were served during the gala, culminating in a chocolate and caramel mousse cake with a chocolate hazelnut dacquoise that was very well appreciated!

Finally the Kalmunity Jazz Collective performed their funky blend of hip hop, song and rap, bringing the people to the dance floor! The dancing continued with DJ Don Smooth whose well-loved tunes kept the party going late!

A big thank you to everyone who came out in support of Black Theatre Workshop! We are already looking forward to next year’s Gala.

Honouree Leon Llewellyn with his wife and BTW board member, Danielle Fortas.



Maguy Méttellus (left) congratulates Honouree Méshama Eyob-Austin, alongside her father, David Austin.


Honouree Athena Holmes performing before our Vision guests.



Love and laughter!



Past recipients of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award include:

2019 33nd Fabienne Colas: Film
2018 32nd Don Jordan: Dance, Theatre & Education
2017 31st Winston Sutton: Theatre & Education
2016 30th Jackie Richardson: Theatre & Music
2015 29th Dany Laferrière: Literature
2014 28th Zab Maboungou: Dance
2013 27th Gregory Charles: Music
2012 26th Tonya Lee Williams: Film & Television
2011 25th Doudou Boicel: Music
2010 24th Bertrand A. Henry: Theatre
2009 23rd Ethel Bruneau: Dance [Tap]
2008 22nd Terry Donald: Theatre
2007 21st Charles Ellison: Music [Jazz]
2006 20th Walter Borden: Theatre
2005 19th Jeri Brown: Music [Jazz]
2004 18th Dr. George Elliot Clarke: Poet
2003 17th Djanet Sears: Theatre
2002 16th Anthony Salah I. Wilson: Music [Steel pan]
2001 15th Aldwin Albino: Music
2000 14th Michelle Sweeney: Music [Singer]
1999 13th Austin Clarke: Writer
1998 12th Anthony Sherwood: Actor
1997 11th Lorraine Klaasen: Music [Singer]
1996 10th Salome Bay: Music / Actor
1995 9th Dr. Daisy Peterson- Sweeny: Music
1994 8th Professor Trevor Payne: Music
1993 7th Dr. Oliver Jones: Music [Pianist]
1992 6th Dr. Clarence Bayne: Theatre & Educator
1991 5th Dr. Dorothy Wills: Community / Arts
1990 4th Rufus Rockhead (posthumously): Music [Jazz]
1989 3rd Charlie Biddle: Music [Jazz]
1988 2nd Ranee Lee: Music / Actor [Jazz]
1987 1st Oscar Peterson: Music



Buy Tickets Online!